The killer and the thief

I went through the trees to see an empty house, the door was opened yet light refused to go in. I wondered what lays in the depth of the darkness. My grandmother says that the darkness is made by a crowd of dark souls … Now why are they all trapped inside?

I got in and suddenly I was the light and I saw my path written by my fate. The sound of music came to my heart then to my ears and it was nothing like I have ever heard before. The music pulled me in to a room where a devil plays a violin.

“Child, come inside. Stop hiding yourself with that light.”
“I thought darkness hides and deceives and truth shines in the light.”
“Darkness reveals our true souls, unaffected with the beauty of the skin and it lets you see your fears that were absent in the light.”
“I can see your face … It’s nothing I would want to see. Your eyes are wiped out like pencil tracks on paper and you’re darker than this darkness!”
“Didn’t you see the beauty in my sounds? Free me from my prison and I shall give you my wings.”

“What will those wings give me?”
“You will be able to travel in a blink, I will give you a position in our kingdom and you will be the last human to die.”
“Why would I want to be the last and lose my loved ones?”
“I will give you a book and inside you will find all of the answers.”
“Where is the key then?”
“That, you must find out on your own.”
“Who locked you in?”
He ignored to play the violin again …

She went out to see … Where is the key?
She stepped on pain and she cried in agony …
It was a room of thorns placed to kill but not the virgins and in the very end shines a rose that was one of a kind. She wanted it like a baby wants his bottle of milk and she stepped on every thorn there was to reach the rose that was worth the trouble. Then she had to walk out and that was worse.

The rose spoke to the little one …
“Don’t fall for the wings! He eats the virgin girls! My prince locked him in so he can’t steal the children anymore.”
“He promised me things and he plays poetic music … How can something evil be so beautiful?”
“I am responsible for the spring … If you don’t put me back all of the roses will die! There will be just the cold winter and the dead autumn.”
“Be quiet.”

She came into the next room to see an old pale woman was combing her long white hair while she was mumbling and laughing by her own.
She had one look at the girl with her red eyes and flew to her as fast as a hunting hawk who went for his prey. The girl froze in fear and the old woman jumped on her forcing her to obey and hold still. A necklace was hanging from her wrinkled neck and it was pointing at the girl’s mouth.
“You’ll be a better dinner … I’ll stuff you first with onions then I’ll cook you with my herbs, then …” She grabbed the necklace and ran as fast as her legs could. “COME BACK WITH MY HEART!!!”

The old woman couldn’t leave the room and that was a relief.
“I wonder what I’ll get my hands on next … What if I tied the necklace on the rose?” She did exactly that then they flew and she went to catch them.
They dropped suddenly on the ground and it was the sound that broke the silence … Suddenly a grand coffin started to shake and someone came out. It was a handsome prince!

“Thank you for setting me free … How can I repay you?”
“I … I was trying to free the poor demon in the prison.”
“I will set him free if you marry me.”
“Yes! I do.”

The birds flew from every window, light finally came in … Beautiful servants carried the wedding dress, the place turned into a garden of colours, the rose turned into a crown and the necklace into a ring.

They kissed after the marriage vows then the place faded away …
It was the demon himself … His way out of the prison was through the coffin and his way out of the house was a bride that will fall for the spell of beauty.
He smiled at her with his ugly face, the crown turned into dust then nature died and now she is the devil’s wife in a portrait of washed off brown, grey and pale death with no wings to escape.

Leave a Reply

